

Winners: Cultural Affairs Awards 2022

Best Researcher Contributing to Archival Heritage

Bernedette Muthien

Library Volunteer of the Year

Elizabeth Fryer

Public Library Friends of the Year

Alida Janse van Rensburg with Gouritsmond Library

Young Writer of the Year

Mira Modise/Africa Unite

Substantial Contribution towards the Development and Advancement of Reading and Literacy (including IT literacy)

Read to Rise

Contribution to the Promotion of Social Inclusion in the Field of Museums, Heritage and Geographical Names

Camissa Museum

Best innovative Project in the field of Museums, Heritage and Geographical Names

Huguenot Memorial Museum

Active Volunteer of the Year in the Museums, Heritage and Geographical Names sector

Maura St John

Contribution to Research, Awareness and Public Advocacy about the standardisation and name changes of geographical features

Drakenstein Municipality

Contribution by a Conservation Body, Heritage organisation or Museums towards the promotion of Local History, Heritage or renaming of geographical features

Nelson Mandela in Cape Town – Legacy Exhibition and Education Programme
An initiative of the City of Cape Town in partnership with the Nelson Mandela Foundation

After School Arts and Culture Coaching Excellence

Madre Loubser

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in the Literary Arts Discipline

Dr Jo-Mari Anne Nel

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in the Dance Discipline

Grant van Ster

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in the Drama Discipline

Mandla Mbothwe

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in the Music Discipline

Muhammad Plaatjies

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in the Visual Arts Discipline

Joviale Muaka

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in film, audiovisual, interactive media and photography

Phillipi TV

Most innovative contribution of an Artist/NGO in the Crafts Discipline

Beyond Talent South Africa

Most innovative person/NGO contributing to Support People Living with Disability

Genadendal, Greyton and Voorville Disability Forum

Most Innovative Young Artist Award

Siphokazi Jonas

Most Innovative contribution of a Legend to the Arts community

Leslie Kleinsmith

Most innovative Community Arts Festival

Prince Albert Community Trust

Neville Alexander Award for an Outstanding Contribution towards the Promotion of Multilingualism

Cape Town Opera

A Project that Promotes South African Sign Language or the Marginalised Indigenous Languages of the Western Cape

Vanessa Reyneke

Significant Contribution to Language Development

Mogamat Alexander

Most innovative contribution of an Artist Living with Disabilities

Zoliswa Flekisi

Ministerial Commendations

Frederick Jacobus (Fred) Mouton: receives the Ministerial Commendation (Posthumous) in recognition of his outstanding contribution in the field of social commentary journalism.

Henk Serfontein: receives the Ministerial Commendation in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the visual arts.

Laetitia Pople: receives the Ministerial Commendation in recognition of her outstanding contribution to journalism in the performing arts.

Virginia Davids: receives the Ministerial Commendation in recognition of her achievements as an opera singer and outstanding contribution to music education.

McCoy Mrubata: receives the Ministerial Commendation in recognition of his achievements and outstanding contribution in local music and development of South African jazz.

Abduragman Adams: receives the Ministerial Commendation in recognition as a talented actor and for his outstanding contribution in mentoring emerging actors in theatre, television and film.

Ministerial Legacy Awards

Sophia Foster: receives the Ministerial Legacy Award in recognition of her outstanding achievements and contribution in music and community development.

Louis Tebogo Moholo: receives the Ministerial Legacy Award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to South African music during the pre-democracy era and South African jazz.

Anthony Cedras: receives the Ministerial Legacy Award in recognition of his outstanding achievement and contribution to South African music during the pre-democracy era and South African jazz.